View Full Version : help please GCC3
darkangelx
12-20-2001, 08:34 PM
Those of you that have installed GCC3 without a problem could you please post what platform you are on and anything other than ./confgure and make that you had to type, the readme for gcc3 isnt very user friendly and so I ask for help.
Hoihoi
12-20-2001, 09:24 PM
just build it the normal way:
sh configure --prefix=installpath
make
make install
and update the PATH
Mr Guy
12-20-2001, 09:26 PM
I use Mandrake 8.1 and used the RedHat rpms as I detailed in http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=52
I used rpm -i --force for the rpms listed there. I also manually changed the /usr/bin/[gcc|g++] links, as I explained in that thread.
Hoihoi
12-20-2001, 09:49 PM
hmm, expect that you will have to reinstall your linux someday when you force rpms such like the standard compiler
darkangelx
12-20-2001, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by Hoihoi
just build it the normal way:
sh configure --prefix=installpath
Could you please elaborate on the "normal way"
i just cd dir
./confgure
make
make install
that isnt working cause im having issues anything else i need to do ?
Smooth
12-21-2001, 01:35 AM
just build it the normal way:
sh configure --prefix=installpath
make
make install
and update the PATH
Can you please ellaborate what updating the PATH means?
Thanks
Smooth
12-21-2001, 01:48 AM
just build it the normal way:
sh configure --prefix=installpath
make
make install
and update the PATH
Can you please ellaborate what updating the PATH means?
Thanks
Hoihoi
12-21-2001, 05:43 AM
the PATH is a system variable where your system is seeking executable binaries/scriptts etc.
it will start seeking from left to right in this variable. so since you didnt install gcc into /usr/local/bin, it will use this path form gcc.
you can check that with 'type gcc'
so to make it use gcc in your new gcc which is not in /usr/locL/bin, you need to make it seek in the new directory first:
ie. export PATH=/usr/local/gcc3/bin:$PATH
this will put the /usr/local/gcc3/bin on the very left side of the PATH variable and there it will seek first and use gcc.
you can check that again with 'type gcc'
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.