View Full Version : error: libEQ.a not found
Smooth
12-21-2001, 07:59 PM
Getting a weird error message on ./configure of showeq. I have followed all of the steps on Zaphod's post but when I do ./configure, I see:
configure: error: libEQ.a not found. Be sure libEQ.a is already installed in /usr/local/lib or /usr/lib
I have downloaded the correct libEQ.a and tried copying it in either directory and ./configure again but still this error message. Any ideas?
Being the greehorn that I am to Linux, I am having difficulty with this exact error. I have been searching books and the web for more information. I found that by runing ldconfig after copying libEQ.a to /usr/local/lib allowed the locate command to finally report success in finding libEQ.a. However, the ./configure still stops with this message. What am I missing, or what have I not done?
Zaphod
12-21-2001, 10:12 PM
Please include the last 5-10 lines of your config.log file so we can see more details.
Thanks and Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)
Smooth
12-21-2001, 10:43 PM
Last few lines of my ./configure
checking for gdbm_open in -lgdbm... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... c++ -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for deque.h... yes
checking for size_t... yes
checking whether to build with decryption... yes
checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ... no
configure: error: libEQ.a not found. Be sure libEQ.a is already installed in /usr/local/lib or /usr/lib.
This is really frustrating me =(
Smooth
Zaphod
12-21-2001, 11:13 PM
When you run configure it creates a file called config.log, I need the last 5-10 lines of that file, not the output from configure.
You can easily get this by doing the following command:
$ tail -10 config.log
Thanks and Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)
I am using Slackware 8.0 (just re-installed fresh)
watching Smooths posts for further info
Smooth
12-21-2001, 11:24 PM
>tail -20 config.log
configure:4118: checking for size_t
configure:4152: checking whether to build with decryption
configure:4216: checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ
configure:4238: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpthread -lgdbm -lz -lpcap 1>&5
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-redhat-linux/2.96/../../../libEQ.a(libEQ.o)(.eh_frame+0x11): undefined reference to `__gxx_personality_v0'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#line 4224 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
#endif
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
char ProcessPacket();
int main() {
ProcessPacket()
; return 0; }
Thanks =)
EQJoe
12-23-2001, 02:05 AM
The exact same thing happened to me, heres the bits you wanted
-----------------
configure:4118: checking for size_t
configure:4152: checking whether to build with decryption
configure:4216: checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ
configure:4238: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpthread -lgdbm -lz -lpcap 1>&5
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i586-mandrake-linux/2.96/../../../libEQ.a(libEQ.o)(.eh_frame+0x11): undefined reference to `__gxx_personality_v0'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#line 4224 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
#endif
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
char ProcessPacket();
int main() {
ProcessPacket()
; return 0; }
---------------------
Hope this helps
EQJoe
[edit: checked the post in front of me, it seems both files are the same, i used the command
tail -20 config.log > eqerrorconfig.log
to cap it]
JackDaRipper
12-23-2001, 11:38 AM
one thing to watch for is the version of gcc/g++ your using. Type:
g++ -v
if it says 2.96 or something similar that isnt 3.0+ thats probally your problem. I was having a similar error until i started thinking and relinked the gcc/g++ files the version 3 stuff rather than the older stuff.
Zaphod
12-23-2001, 01:32 PM
If your g++ 3.x has a name of g++3 do the following:
export CXX=g++3
export CC=gcc3
If your g++ has a name of g++-3 do the following:
export CXX=g++-3
export CC=gcc-3
If you're trying to use the new libEQ.a with ShowEQ 3.1.x, don't, it doesn't work with it, the API's of libEQ.a have changed.
Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)
Most of us is unaware that the new version of seq (v4) has been moved to the showeq cvs tree. When you do a cvs co linux you are in fact pulling version 3 again. Version 3 is incompatible with the new libEQ.a and fails the function lookup check in the configure script, so it says its missing and bombs out. Do a cvs co showeq and try again and that should resolve the missing file problem.
SeqTester
12-25-2001, 01:21 PM
Actually Version 3 does work with the new libEQ.a, but I was also getting this error and I did the above fix...
export CXX=g++3
export CC=gcc3
... and it worked fine.
Thanks :cool:
Also where do I put my export commands so they run everytime in RedHat7.2?
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.11 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.